450 S.C. students vied for 175 spots

450 S.C. students vied for 175 spots

Twenty Andrew Jackson High chorus students and 14 Indian Land High chorus students earned spots in the 2018 American Choral Directors Association Honor Choir.

     More than 450 students from across the state auditioned for only 175 spots.

     “This is a huge honor,” Board of Trustees chair Bobby Parker said. “Being chosen is a testament to the talent of these students and the hard work they put into practice. The fact that 34 of our students – that’s 20% – were selected for the Honor Choir is really impressive. It shows how knowledgeable and motivational our chorus teachers are.”

     Each student records an audition and submits it to be judged against students from across the state.

     For the audition, each student sings a voice part – soprano, alto, tenor, bass – of a song that will be performed during honor choir weekend.

     Students selected for Honor Choir travel to the event and work with clinicians from across the United States.

     “Our board wishes these students and their instructors continued success on the stage and in the classroom,” Parker said. “I hope people in our community will take time to attend concerts by these two chorus programs – they’re incredible performances.”

•  Andrew Jackson High students – teacher Lizzie Elliott

     – Brooke Addison

     – Maddie Baker

     – Katie Balch

     – Tori Caskey

     – David Douglas

     – Jurnee Ingram

     – Matthew Kirk

     – Matthew McCall

     – Chloe Mungo

     – Shaylah Ortiz

     – Grayson Peavy

     – Gabe Reeves

     – Leah Roberts

     – Madison Short

     – Vanessa Steen

     – Madison Vincent

     – Taylor Wade

     – Ty Walker

     – Riley Wharton

     – Lyndsey Williams

•  Indian Land High students – teacher Lisa Knox

     – Alex Bowers

     – Miranda Broome

     – Jackie Centeno

     – Thomas Drake

     – Naiyona Foster

     – Macy Gillespie

     – Trinity McCrorey

     – Jessica Morgan

     – Leonardo Palomares-Cidrian

     – Morela Taffe

     – Ryker Tinholt

     – Raivyn Trapps

     – Nicole Urribarri

     – Joseph Whitney